Tags

, ,

I held a class yesterday, at our local guild (the Tarheel Quilters), on a technique called “paper piecing”.

Amongst the members of the guild the technique is not very popular. I believe that most people are unfamiliar with it and a bit reluctant to tackle it. I use it often and even with very traditional quilting blocks; I find it greatly improves my accuracy and the appearance of my blocks!

Here are a couple of pictures of a block some of the students made yesterday:

20130721-064901.jpg

20130721-065000.jpg

We had a lot of laughs and as usual in these classes, got to know each other a bit better. On a much more personal note, participating in some of these guild activities is making me much more of a social person. I am not known for my social skills (or my tact, for that matter), and so some of these events that require me to interact with people are definitely a good thing! And I am learning that there is a lot to like in people!

