As mentioned in my previous post, Charlie went deep sea fishing yesterday for the first time.  He called yesterday evening, happy but exhausted, to report he had caught a 20 lb “fish”.  I, of course,immediately asked: What kind of fish?

Charlie happily replied: “I have no idea – the people on the boat think it’s a grouper”
(I’m thinking they do this for a living so they ought to know, but Charlie seems to have his doubts).  Shortly thereafter the picture arrived…

I am not very knowledgeable about fish; to me the thing looks a bit like a tuna.  I figured once we cut it up we might know more (if it’s a tuna the meat will be pink).  I also googled groupers and the pictures I see online look nothing like the fish on the photo!

So, anyone recognize this fish ?

Charlie and the Fish

