Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I have a doctor’s appointment tomorrow morning (Monday).  Unbeknownst to me, the appointment required lab tests; luckily I received a telephone reminder last week, where they also informed me that the Lab at the  VA hospital is open Sunday mornings…..So, this morning, shortly after 6 am, I found myself on the way there.  I was certain that since I was going that early I’d be the first one there and I’d be in and out in no time!  I got there 15 min before they opened and was # 4 in line!  At least I was still right about the in and out part – I was done in less than 20 min.  Since I had been required to fast, I was totally decaffeinated…..

I drove over to our local chain bakery (I rationalized it with “I’m getting Charlie breakfast”) and  got one pastry, one loaf of bread and one cup of coffee = $13.00 !!

Bakery photo 3

Then, off to the grocery store for dog food, fruit (watermelon), eggs, three Fat Quarters (ok, so those are not food)… back at home, I made Blueberry Cake (with tons of fresh blueberries).  This cake is easy, and works with almost any kind of fruit: plums, apricots, blueberries, cherries, apples, pears, peaches.

The recipe is posted on the recipe page of this blog.  It’s a recipe from Austria that my mom used to make when we were kids.  Austria has bakeries almost on every corner and this cake is sold almost everywhere.  I am posting the recipe on the recipes page – if you try it, let me know how it turns out!

