Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I am hooked on CNN – it is running, in whatever room I am in, 24 hrs a day…

From that, you can infer that I am a big fan. Lately, I have noticed that CNN’s coverage areas have shifted a bit. Don’t misunderstand me, it is still much higher end journalism than you can find anywhere else, but I would love to see some more of what I used to see: more international news, more of how what is happening in the U.S fits in with the rest of the world (and vice versa) and so on.

Why do they have to cover the destruction of Ariel Castro’s house in Cleveland live? Of what particular importance is that to the public at large? Why is the Jodi Arias trial covered gavel to gavel? And yes, I watched it too, but I would have also watched it if it had appeared on any of CNN’s sister networks: HLN (which traditionally covers the “lighter side of the news), or True TV (which covers trials and legal related issues).

Even my flagship, favorite shows, The Situation Room and AC360 have started slipping into the more sensational side of things. I am starting to wonder if CNN is trying to increase its viewership by appealing to a broader audience….either way, I’d like to see a bit more of the “serious” side of CNN back….

