When Charlie came home with a whole bunch of snapper from his fishing trip, I asked him to clean them, but not filet them. Before I realized what he was doing, he had cut off the tails and the heads off four out of the six snapper he had caught.

When I clarified what I wanted (scale the fish, take out the innards but do not cut off heads or tails), I encountered the very familiar “this is not what I am used to”…but he did as I asked for the last two fish.

Charlie loves fried fish – I, not so much….

20130808-155151.jpg

This appears to be one of those relatively minor cultural differences that could, if we let it, get larger…

He does not understand how I could possibly not like breaded, fried seafood and I cannot comprehend how he does not see how a nice piece of grilled or broiled fish is far superior to fried.

Today, I defrosted and grilled one of the fish whose head and tail he had left intact.

20130808-160356.jpg

I put it on the grill along with some vegetables, and as far as I am concerned it was great eating! He liked it, but I am not sure how much.

And so, I guess we will continue to eat the fish he catches in the lake fried, and the fish he catches in the sea grilled or broiled….on Saturday, I promised him fried chicken !

20130808-161540.jpg

