Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I spent a great many years worrying about all sorts of things: the way I look, my weight, my popularity, am i doing the right thing in any given situation, do people like me and so on….

I have always been keenly aware of the fact that my sisters (all of them!) are gorgeous, and very successful – each in their own chosen places in life. I’ve always known (my mom told me so!) that I have half a brain, but we all know that that does not get you anywhere when you are socially awkward…..and that, I am!

While I was thinking about all this the other day, I realized how things have changed! The only thing I still care about is whether I am doing the right thing. I have come to understand that people are different, and that I might not get along with everyone (not their fault or mine, just different personalities); I know that I cannot change my looks (unless I am willing to engage in some very useless, expensive, time consuming and dangerous surgery). The topic of my weight is a bit different, because apparently I can be fairly disciplined in every aspect of my life except for this one! (I am not writing this to solicit weight loss advice from every one I know).

I don’t want to gloss over the whole “doing the right thing” comment I made earlier. I strongly believe that one should do the right thing, even when no one is looking or when there is no reward to follow!

I could give myself credit for all this, but that would not be doing the right thing. The person most responsible for making me realize that being just me is also pretty good, is Charlie (BHE). It is invaluable to have a partner who loves and supports you and who, instead of “I told you so” says “darling, with you, there is never a dull moment!”

And so, even though he thinks he is catching the big fish in this house, I am sure that I have the catch of my life!

20130818-083325.jpg

