Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I have two very close friends who went on a pretty drastic diet recently.  Then, we all attended a potluck and I wanted to make a dish that they could eat.  I asked for a list of vegetables that they are allowed to eat, and among the permitted vegetables were cabbage onions and carrots,  They are however, not allowed to eat fats of any kind: no oil, no butter, no nothing.  This of course, also eliminates traditional southern seasonings such as ham hawks, sausage and bacon.

I decided to cook cabbage and flavor it with spices.  Allowing the carrots and onions that I added to the dish to caramelize at the beginning of the cooking process gave the whole thing additional flavor.

So, here is the recipe:

1 large head of cabbage, cut into large pieces
1 onion, chopped
2 carrots, sliced
1 tbsp olive oil
1/4 cup chicken stock (I used instant)
Pepper, very little salt (usuakky chicken stock is plenty salty)
Caraway seeds

Heat the oil in a large pot.  Add carrots, and a few minutes later onions (carrots take longer to cook) stirring constantly – otherwise the vegetable swill burn.

Add the cabbage and continue to stir for approx. 1-2 minutes.  Season with pepper, salt and caraway seeds.  Add the chicken stock.  If the pan is hot, the chicken stock will create steam which will cook the cabbage almost instantly.  Turn the heat down to medium/low and allow the cabbage to cook for an additional 4-5 minutes – no longer, or it will turn to mush!

If you are taking the dish somewhere, make sure to undercook the cabbage a bit, and then finish it when you get there!

I don’t have a picture of the dish because both times I have made it so far, it has disappeared almost instantly (a great compliment for me!)

