This morning, Charlie and I drove up to Sanford to visit the quilt show that is taking place there this weekend. Several of our guild members had entered quilt into the competition, along with many other quilters from the area.

Some of my friends won several ribbons, and quilts made from one of our local designers’ patterns won too. I was sooo excited to see all of my friends quilts that I almost forgot to go find mine!

I had entered two quilts in the show, a black, red and gold wall hanging of a paper pieced kimono. The second is a table topper (I described it in an earlier post; it is approx. 24″ square and has 902 pieces). I was able to locate the first one (kimono) rather quickly. It looked good hanging in the show amidst all the other wall hangings and I was very proud. The second one was a bit harder to find, I had to walk up and down several aisles. When I found it, there was a 2nd place ribbon hanging on it!!!! The picture below (me standing next to the quilt with a deer-in-the-headlight-look) pretty much says it all….that is exactly how stunned I was; and also sooo pleasantly surprised!

20131018-195501.jpg

And then, there was Taylor’s quilt. This is a quilt where several of us made a block, and then Taylor’s mom, Geniece, put all the blocks together into a quilt. It was a gift from all of us to him on occasion of his graduating from firefighter school. Geniece entered the quilt into the show and it won a ribbon too.

20131018-201331.jpg

Overall a great day – my friends won ribbons (most of them several), and I won a ribbon.

