Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I started walking recently. I walk twice around a “big” block, which amounts to approx. 1,5-1,75 miles. I don’t wear expensive (or even good looking) exercise clothes or shoes; I just jump in a pair of old sweats and start walking.

My neighborhood is a typical suburban subdivision, but each time I walk it, I pick up new details. I know when the guy on the other side of the block runs his sprinklers, that the people at the end of the block have at least one teenaged son whose friends meet him on the front porch before school, or that the people in the third house from the end of the street have a teenage daughter that walks to the bus stop slower than anyone I have ever seen. I admire some people’s landscaping, other neighbors’ curbing and think bad thoughts about the people behind us whose yard looks like the surface of the moon! Sometimes, I see lights on in the bathrooms and lots of other driving off…

While these walks have the obvious benefits exercise provides, they also remind me how good and “normal” my life is. I have discovered that I like “normal”…

