I have no clue where I got the idea from….I decided I wanted to make eggnog cupcakes.

After looking through tons of recipes online, I decided on this one. It seemed to be the most unpretentious one, and it made sense. Baking is very different than cooking; baking is based in chemistry and how the various ingredients will react and interact to each other – if the proportions aren’t right, the whole thing won’t work. Additionally, this recipe intrigued me, because one of its ingredients is one of my most frowned upon things (cake mix).

20131104-143409.jpg

Turns out, these are really good! They are light and fluffy, and the hint of rum (extract) gives them a nice extra pop of flavor. I am taking them to my election precinct tomorrow, and I can see myself making them again for our guild meeting in a couple of weeks!

And, Maggie is still pacing – which she has now done for at least three days straight (with the exception of a couple of hours of sleep)!

