Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Last month, I was elected President of the Tarheel Quilters Guild. It is an awesome responsibility and one that I don’t take lightly.

I see my role as President as the Head Administrator, Head Coordinator and hardest working worker bee for our guild members. The guild is a great organization with countless years of quilting experience. We value those members experience and knowledge that have been quilting for a while while at the same time welcoming in new members, new experiences, new techniques and fresh knowledge!

I am looking forward to a great year and am also nervous about doing the guild and it’s 118 members justice! Our previous president, Debby (see photo of the two of us below) did a wonderful job, in that she unified the guild and made us look forward to showing up at meetings! We never knew what she was going to come up with next and her enthusiasm was absolutely infectious!

Above all, I think the guild is a service organization. We provide lap quilts for veterans at the veteran’s hospital, as well as baby quilts for the neo-natal intensive care unit. In order to continue this mission, and the increasing demand in both areas, we have to look towards increasing our membership and engaging in fund raising. Our membership will increase if we give members what they want, we make the meetings fun and have a presence in the community!

20131216-161541.jpg

I promised the guild that I would work as hard as I could for them; I hope my efforts do all the great members that we have justice!

