As I’m sure one of my fellow bloggers can attest, walking 10,000 steps a day is not easy!

My fitbit (which I have now had for exactly one month) is an illusion busting, butt kicking, great motivating little tool! Had you asked me last month, whether I walked 10,000 steps a day, I would have probably laughed at you as I consider myself to be a fairly active, mobile person.

Apparently I was kidding myself. Most days I can make it to 7,500-8,000 steps without a problem. Then, in the evening, I start walking circles around the house in order to make it to 10,000. By the way, 10,000 steps are 4 1/4 miles….

While a lot of emphasis is placed on the “10,000 step” part, the fitbit has several other criteria that you are expected to meet each day: climb 10 flights of stairs, walk a distance of 4 miles, drink 64 oz of water, and be active (elevated heart rate) for 30 min. All these, are the default criteria pre-programmed into the fitbit; they can be changed…

With a little effort I can meet all but one of those: the elevated heart rate bit.

I’ll keep working at it – to the great amusement of BHE who thinks it is hilarious to see me speed walking through the house!

