Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Somehow, sometime while we were in Greece, my BHE had the “brilliant” idea of bringing home an olive tree! I, considering myself to be the “reasonable” one, immediately dismissed the idea as bonkers (yes, this is the proper English word I used for this endeavor).

Notwithstanding my opinion, my brother-in-law George went and bought a small olive tree in a pot.

20140505-075448.jpg

I ranted and raved, talked and insisted that the tree could not be transported back to the U.S. My husband (BHE) did some heavy research, mostly involving Google, at the U.S. Customs website, and printed a page that said we could take the tree as long as we did not take the soil…

And so the two if them set out to take the tree out of it’s little pot and clean all the soil of it’s delicate roots. They then wrapped the roots in a bunch of wet paper towels to keep them moist. After that, they formed a tube out of a water resistant box and placed the tree inside.

20140505-080710.jpg

We debated for a while on whether to carry the package in BHE’s backpack, but I decided to put it in a suitcase instead. BHE travels much better when carrying as little as possible and the box was sturdy enough to protect the little plant.

After arriving back home – very, very late last night – the first thing I did was open the suitcase. The little tree and it’s package was in there along with a notice from the U.S. Customs Office. Apparently, when the suitcase passed through their scanning process, something triggered them to inspect the suitcase closer. Of course, I don’t know if it was the tree package, my shoes, or the cooking magazines I bought in Athens, but if I had to bet I would say it was the tree…

I unpacked the tree and found it a pot. Later today, I will plant my Greek Olive Tree in it’s new vessel. Not that Charlie and I need any reminders, but it will be a great visual memento of a family reunion that will probably not be repeated anytime soon!

20140505-082020.jpg

