Tags

, , , ,

My favorite grocery store in this area (and the one I can least afford) has two sizes of carts.

A small one, like this one,

20140515-163503.jpg

and a “regular” sized one, like this:

20140515-163630.jpg

You can’t tell from the pictures, but the smaller one, is MUCH smaller than the regular one.

I recently realized that when I use the larger cart, I shop much more and thus spend much more (no matter how many items I place in the larger cart it looks fairly empty). The smaller cart fills up quickly, and gives me the feeling that I am spending too much…..

It is funny really, that even though I know that this is going on, I still use such little psychological tricks on myself! But, they work and help me keep my checkbook under control. I use lots of little tricks like that on myself, in all sorts of situations.

Any of you out there do that? I’d love to know !

