Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Yesterday, I needed a quick and easy side dish to the Red Snapper I was cooking for lunch. Charlie and I have taken to eating a late lunch/early dinner, and then just having something really light in the evening – usually popcorn for him and fruit for me.

I decided on a green bean salad. I was roasting the red snapper and I wanted something light and summery. The fact that I had all the ingredients at home didn’t hurt either.

20140716-062409-23049203.jpg

The ingredients:

A can (or two) of green beans (cut, French or whole)
A chopped onion
A handful cherry tomatoes, halved
Olive oil
Dash of lemon juice or balsamic vinegar
Salt & Pepper
Garlic, crushed (optional)
A handful of Croutons

Mix the green beans, onion & halved tomatoes in a bowl. Mix carefully. Add salt & pepper (& garlic if using) to taste. Add lemon (or balsamic) and coat with olive oil. Lay croutons on top, right before serving – you don’t want to mix the croutons in the salad, or let them sit on it for too long, because you don’t want them to get soggy.

Chill…

