Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

A few weeks ago, our local quilt shop (Loving Stitches) asked if I’d be interested in leading a Modern Quilt Group.  After giving it some thought, I agreed.  The group will kick off with a “meet & greet” on August 9th at the Quilt Shop!

Tanja (also a “modern” girl) and I, decided to make the same quilt, without consulting with each other.  We decided on the following rules:  we would pick a pattern, NOT consult with eachother on fabric choices, and we had to give the quilt a modern spin. To give credit where credit is due, the whole idea was Tanja’s (and it is a brilliant one I think!).  To also place blame on the right person, I am the one that chose the pattern…..And here is the pattern I (we) decided on:

Chirp Chirp (as seen in Quilts & more, Spring 2010)

Chirp Chirp (as seen in Quilts & more, Spring 2010)

We decided to do this, because Tanja likes strong colors and very bold patterns.  I also like bold, large patterns, but I am also very partial to very muted colors.  We thought that this would illustrate how the same pattern can result in very different quilts, based on the makers sensibilities.

And here is my quilt:

Front

Front

I chose fabrics in white, tan and grey; the plum is there for a pop of bold color.  My jumping off point was the Edgar Alan Poe fabric (bottom center).  I initially wanted much more of that in the quilt, but it ended up looking much too busy for what I was trying to accomplish.  The bird in the center is fussy cut from a piece of IKEA drapery fabric.

By the way, the quilt is square and straight – it’s just my photography that is not!

The back also came from IKEA – just FYI, their fabric department holds a treasure troth!  Most of their fabrics are cotton, most are between 60″ and 120″ wide, and a LOT of them are perfectly suited for quilting.  And the price is great too!

And here is a picture of the back:

Back

Back

I am presenting the quilt at the meet & greet on August 9th – I cannot wait to see what Tanja came up with; to my knowledge, she does not follow my blog (yet), so hopefully she won’t see it before I see hers!

I will update this post with a picture of her quilt after August 9th!

