Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

When I came across Lori Kennedy’s blog, The Inbox Jaunt, I was immediately hooked. Then I came across the post that featured a paper pieced rose, and knew I had to attempt it….
IMG_2831.JPG

And so, I pulled a bunch of scraps out of my under-the-table bin, and got started putting together random pink pieces. Here is the result:
IMG_2787.JPG
I was not particularly pleased with the “flow” of the different shades of pink and so I began looking for a way to mute the contrast and create a more cohesive color. The answer? Tulle! Several different shades of it….

I overlaid the different pinks with a a layer of tulle, then began quilting…

IMG_2833.JPG
Some of the tulle has little sparklies in it, and some has a crinkly texture…

IMG_2834-0.JPG
It like the way it turned out!

The final question became how to bind the piece. Pink? Green? Brown? I decided on brown – and here is the result:

IMG_2828.JPG
(This is also my feeble attempt at better quilt photography….)

