Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Just as I was debating what to do with the last eggplant out of my garden, and a couple of overripe tomatoes I had left, here comes this email from my sister! Guess what we’re having for dinner tomorrow?

My sister uses a stoneware vessel for this dish, but any glass baking pan can be used. If using a metal pan, I would line it with aluminum foil.

Add olive oil and some garlic to the baking pan.
IMG_2840.JPG
Add an onion (roughly chopped) and a tomato or two (also roughly chopped).

IMG_2838.JPG

Peel some of the skin off the eggplant (see photo), and chop into evenly sized pieces.

IMG_2842.JPG

Add the eggplant to the tomatoes and onion in the pan and toss everything with olive oil (make sure the eggplant is coated with olive oil). Add salt, pepper and parsley (optional).

IMG_2845.JPG
Cover, and bake/roast in a medium oven for approximately one hour (or until the eggplant is fork tender).
Serve with a slice (or if you are like me, a chunk) of Feta cheese for a great, satisfying, healthy, meatless Mediterranean meal!

IMG_2841.JPG

