Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

My guild’ s “Floral Fantasy” Quilt Show opened this weekend in Fayetteville, NC.

This was an opportunity that came up for us suddenly, and the Guild jumped in it,mead first! we put it together in a VERY short period of time, and we are all very excited (and pleased) about the quality of the work submitted!

I entered six quilts – here they are:

IMG_2138.JPG

This quilt was made from blocks collected through two different “group” projects. The first was a Quilt-Along, where each month one had two make two identical blocks, one 12″ and one 6″ in different color ways, for a period of one year. The second was a 9-patch exchange; each month you made thirty 9-patches, which then got distributed among the thirty participants of the group. I combined the two into one quilt, for a truly “patchwork” project. I am proud to say that no fabric was purchased for this quilt – even the backing and binding were pulled out of my scrap bin.

The second quilt I entered is the rose I just completed:

IMG_2829.JPG

This is a paper piecing project that I made specifically for this show – I wanted something. That would fit the theme of the show. You cannot see on the photo but the paper pieced rose is overlaid with tulle that has a little of sparkle in it (the sparklies are really hard to see in the photo).

The next one I entered is the “Quilting Giurmet” (a.k.a. The Kitchen Quilt):

IMG_2813.JPG

I’ve written several posts about this one in the very recent past! I loooove this quilt!

I also entered my airplane bag….

IMG_2250

The table topper, named “Time” (because it took many, many months to complete it) was entered into the “Other” category:

IMG_1662.JPG

Lastly, at the very last possible moment, I decided to enter my miniature Kimono. this a paper pieced pattern I designed.

IMG_2545.JPG

The quilt show is taking place at Cape a Fear Botanical Gardens in Fayetteville, NC. It opened on Thursday with a reduced display (because of inclement weather the Garden had to pull some other events indoors, which reduced the display space a bit). The full quilt show will be open on Saturday & Sunday from 10 a.m. To 5 p.m.

If you are in or near Fayetteville, come down and see it! The price of admission buys a whole host of events & activities this weekend: the quilt show, Heritage Days at the Gardens (a yearly event that s a lot of fun) as well as the beautiful (absolutely gorgeous) garden displays!

