Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

As many of the other blocks, the hardest part was figuring out how to make this block. Intuitively, I want to start with the most dominant fabric in the block and piece/applique/paper piece from there.

Sometimes this is not the best or easiest approach – sometimes starting with the least dominant fabric reveals an easier method…..

I dissected this block into four quadrants, pieced them individually and then sewed them together into a square. Then, I appliquéd the four triangles. In a familiar trend, I had picked a fabric with an overall pattern, a non directional. I pieced the first quadrant, looked at it and decided to fussy cut the flowers into this block. I left the first quadrant as it was because I like the visible contrast between the fussy cut sections and the randomly pieced one…..

IMG_2885.JPG

This is block # 149; it consists of 24 pieces.

