Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Last weekend, I took a trip to the mountains. A friend invited me to join a group of 14 other crafters and spend two days at a retreat outside Banner Elk, NC. It is amazing how the landscape changes when you travel from east to west in this state! It goes from totally “beachy” on the coast, to this:

IMG_1443.JPG

We stayed at a religious (episcopalian, I think) conference center in a beautiful old building with radiant heat!

IMG_1425.JPG

IMG_1455.JPG

The setting was gorgeous, the building charming and rustic, the company fabulous, and the food above average country style!

IMG_1422.JPG

IMG_1487.JPG

Among the fifteen of us were knitters, quilters, crafters and readers. It was a GREAT mix of personalities (and there were definite personalities) – we laughed a lot, discussed a lot, ate a lot and some actually got some projects accomplished! One of the ladies managed to complete four(!!) quilt tops. Others, like me, barely finished one!

The pictures below show some of the activities that went on (note the picture on the bottom with one of our friends engaging in “napping”).

IMG_1478.JPG

IMG_1520.JPG

IMG_1528.JPG

IMG_1519.JPG

I had a great time, got to know some of my fellow quilters and the librarians from Fayetteville (there were five librarians in attendance) a little better, and decided I am going again next year! (For those of you that may want to see more photos, there is an album on my Facebook page; it is titled Valle Crucis weekend)

IMG_1540.JPG

IMG_1448.JPG

IMG_1450.JPG

