Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’ve been doing this for quite a while now, and I’ve been wondering just as long: Am I smart and frugal or just plain petty and cheap?

For all of us, often when we buy food things, they come in pre-packaged quantities. Take tomato paste for example – the smallest can contains 6 ounces of product.

IMG_2964.JPG

I have NEVER encountered an occasion where I needed the whole six ounces for a dish – no matter how many people I was feeding….so, this is what I do:

I spread out a small sheet of parchment on a cookie sheet. then I make little heaps of tomato paste on it (each heal being one tablespoon).

IMG_1592.JPG

I set that cookie sheet in the freezer for a couple of hours; just long enough for the paste to solidify. Then, I label a freezer bag and place the hardened paste inside.

IMG_1591.JPG
It goes in the top drawer of our freezer – now, anytime I need a couple of spoonfuls of paste, all I have to do is reach in the freezer!

Now, am I frugal or cheap????

