Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Kate is the young lady that takes care of our dogs when we are out of town. We have three Shih Tzu girls that Charlie calls his babies. Most of the time, they follow him around like if he is the pied piper.

Kate is 20 or 21 (I think) and in college. She lives at home, directly across the street from us, and is an all around nice young lady and, she takes great care of the girls when we are gone!

I am grateful for Kate because she gives us peace of mind (I know what not having that peace of mind feels like). A Christmas present for Kate is in order…

Having won an Accuquilt baby and a couple of dies recently, I decided to make a sign for Kate. Her favorite color is blue, so I use a vibrant royal blue as the background. I appliquéd her name in teal (utilizing applique knowledge acquired in a recent class) under a free form tree branch. At either end of the tree branch are two die cut flowers and sitting on the branch are two die cut birds. To give the whole thing a bit more dimension, I added applique circles and green buttons to the center of the flowers. The birds got wings and little beads for eyes. The binding is a teal polka dot print.

IMG_2969.JPG

I am pretty sure that Kate does not follow my blog; if she does, the surprise is definitely spoiled!

