Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Because this block is so simple, it is difficult….if one of the sections is even slightly misshapen or just a bit askew, the block will not work.

So, my inexperienced-in-needle-turn-applique self went to work – there are many days nowadays where I wished I had expressed interest in sewing while my grandmother and great aunt were still around. They were both extremely talented seamstresses, and could have easily taught me then what I am struggling to teach myself now….

Because the background fabric is so light in color, I was able to lay it directly over the diagram in the book and traced the outlines of the pieces directly onto my square. Instead of fabric markers, I use chalk to mark fabrics. I traced the shapes onto freezer paper, ironed them onto the focus fabric and cut them out (with some seam allowance of course). Then, I basted the shapes onto the background fabric using the chalk outlines. Even though the shapes are basted down, special care has to be taken for the shapes not to shift during stitching down….

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/2b9/55355526/files/2014/12/img_3081.jpg

In addition, because the fabric is so structured (almost geometric) it had to be carefully fussy cut….

This is block # 167 and has nine pieces.

