Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

We (BHE and I) eat a LOT of soup! It is our go-to meal when we’re sick, cold, hot, don’t want to cook, don’t want or can’t afford take-out…you get the point! there is always a variety of canned soups in our pantry,

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/2b9/55355526/files/2015/01/img_3086.jpg
But lately, they’ve been staying there.

I found out how easy it is to make “instant” soup in no time, at home. It all started with a trip to Harris Teeter: They have a “clearance” rack in the produce department, where I picked up a bag of zucchini and a giant bag of portobello caps (all the way to the register wondering why these vegetables were in the clearance rack since they looked and felt very fresh).

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/2b9/55355526/files/2015/01/img_3087.jpg

We had some of these vegetables for dinner yesterday, but today we wanted soup. So, I put on a pot of water and dissolved some chicken base in it. Then, I raided the fridge where I found carrots, celery, onions, zucchini and the portobello caps. Had I looked harder, I would have also found frozen corn and frozen peas in the freezer….in the pantry, I found a half a bag of egg noodles. Chopping the vegetables took less than five minutes, and everything went in the pot with the chicken base. I had decided to make this a vegetable soup when I realized I also had roast turkey left over (real roast turkey, not the cold cut). I let everything except the turkey simmer for six to eight minutes, then added the chopped meat, and voilà! Homemade instant soup without the can!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/2b9/55355526/files/2015/01/img_3089.jpg

This is a very versatile “recipe”; it can be dressed up or dressed down – one can add tomatoes, leave the noodles out and add potatoes, or go starchless altogether. Leave out the turkey and add beans or beans and some leftover Christmas ham. I cannot think of a vegetable that can’t go in there (ok, maybe not cucumber). Personally, I like green leafy stuff, so spinach, Chinese cabbage, regular cabbage, etc. are also great options.

Let me know if you decide to make this and what creative options you came up with! Bon appetit!

