Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I have not done a garden update in a few (weeks) but lots has been happening out there so an update is needed.  First, here is a photo of the garden today:

Es ist schon einige Wochen her seit ich über den garten berichtet habe, aber es gibt einiges zum Mitteilen.  Zuerst, hier ist ein Photo (heute gemacht):

IMG_9206All of the plants (with the exception of one) are bearing fruit; some a lot more fruit than others…

Alle Pflanzen haben jetzt Früchte (manche mehr als andere).

Below, is a gallery of some close-ups:

Und hier sind ein paar Photos davon: 

As you can see in the picture on top, I have put up a trellis for the cucumbers because last year, they had taken over the entire garden.  A friend made a passing comment about cucumbers not climbing and not growing on a support structure….I had no idea (I am not an experienced gardener), but I figured it was worth a try.  Well, they appear to do well on supports…

Wie man von dem Photo ganz oben sehen kann, habe ich die Gurken auf ein Holzgitter platziert; letztes Jahr habe sie den ganzen Garten übernommen.  Ich habe eine Freundin die dann gesagt hat dass Gurken nicht am Gitter wachsen werden….Ich hatte keine Ahnung (ich habe sehr wenig Garten Erfahrung).  Ich dachte es wäre halt den Versuch wert – und ja, sie wachsen ganz gut auf dem Gitter!

I harvested the first two vegetables yesterday – on the left, you see a rather large cucumber, and on the right a gigantic zucchini.  Both measure approximately 12″ long.  don’t know what I am doing to produce these large sizes, but they taste great so I am good with it!

Ich habe gestern die ersten Stücke geerntet – links eine Gurke und rechts ein Zucchini.  Beide sind ca. 30 cm (!!) lang.  Ich weiss nicht was ich jedes Jahr richtig mache und so grosses Gemüse aus dem garten bekomme, aber es schmeckt gut, als mach ich so weiter!

IMG_9203

