Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

BHE (Best Husband Ever) wanted ribs, so I decided to make him some.  This is how I make them:  I lay a rack on top of a dish, put hot water in the pan and slow roast them in the oven.  About half way through the cooking process, I pour a dark beer over them – this keeps them moist and gives them additional depth in flavor.

Der Beste Mann der Welt wollte spareribs zum Essen; ich wollte ihm welche machen.  Und so bereite ich sie zu:  Ich lege einen Grilleinsatz über einen Bräter, gebe heisses Wasser in den Bräter und roste die Spareribs langsam. Ungefähr in der mite des röstens, giesse ich ein dunkles Bier drüber – so bleiben die spareribs saftig, und schmecken auch besser!

And that’s when it happened! The Pyrex dish exploded into millions of shards of glass that came flying out of the oven accompanied by all the pork fat that had melted off the ribs (thankfully, I had just started turning away from the oven).

Und da ist es dann passiert! Das Pyrex ist explodiert und Millionen von Glas Scherben und geschmolzenes heisses Schweinefett sind mir entgegen geflogen (ich hatte Glück denn ich hatte mich gerade von dem Ofen weggewendet).

The pictures below show the kitchen after I had cleaned up the biggest part of the mess….

Auf den Photos unten ist die Küche zu sehen, nachdem ich den grössten Teil von dem Schlamassel sauber gemacht hatte….

The dogs’ water bowl is eight feet away and there was glass shards and little pearls of fat floating in there!  I spent the rest of the day cleaning the kitchen.  I came away from this little adventure with just a couple of cuts on my hands and feet – happy about that!

Die Wasserschüssel für unsere Hunde ist 3m weit weg, und da waren auch Glasscherben und kleine Fett perlen drin. Ich habe den Rest des Tages mit Putzen verbracht.  Ich habe nur eine paar Schnitte auf Händen und Füssen – Glück gehabt!

Still don’t understand why the Pyrex dish exploded? (and no, there was no drastic change in temperature)

Ich verstehe nicht warum der Brüter explodiert ist? (und nein, es gab keine radikale Temperatur Unterschiede…)

