Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

 

The rain has continued to fall heavily…so heavy in fact, that I had to empty the rain gauge about an hour ago because it was overflowing.  The gauge holds 5″ and all that has fallen in less than 24 hours!  Here is a photo of how much rain has fallen in the last hour:

Es regnet immer noch ….. es hat in den letzten 24 Stunden so stark geregnet, dass ich den Regenmesser leeren musste denn er war voll.  Der Sensor hält 5″ (ca. 13cm); hier ist ein Photo von dem Regenmesser jetzt (ich habe ihn vor einer Stunde geleert):

 

Every layer put down in the garden requires copious wetting down.  I have been complaining since the rain started what a waste of “wetness” all this falling rain is, because I have not been able to add additional layers to the garden.  In the middle of this morning’s down pour, I decided to go outside and add the next layer: cardboard.  I ended up soaking wet and freezing cold, but quite happy!  Before I had even laid down the first piece, the cardboard had gotten wet enough to be soft and pliable and really easy to form into the shapes I needed for maximum coverage.

Jede Schicht im Garten erfordert reichliches Nassmachen. Ich habe mich seit gestern beschwert, dass die ganze “Nässe” die vom Himmel fällt, eine Verschwendung ist!  Heute morgen und mitten im stärksten Regen bin ich hinaus gegangen und habe die nächste Schicht in den Garten gelegt: Kartons.  Ich war komplett nass (Unterwäsche auch) und eiskalt aber sehr happy.  Bevor ich das erste Stück ausgelegt hatte, waren die Kartons nass genug um weich und geschmeidig zu sein und ich konnte sie sehr leicht formen um maximale Abdeckung zu erreichen.

More to come….

Mehr später….

 

 

 

