Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Let me start by saying that this is not a tutorial about how to make flying geese – there are several really good ones out there. These are a couple of good ones:  Connecting Threads, Patchpieces.

Ich muss ganz am Anfang sagen, dass dieses Posting nicht darüber ist wie man “Flying Geese” macht – es gibt mehrere wirklich gute. Hier sind zwei Beispiele: Connecting Threads oder Patchpieces.

When I make flying geese, I never have to make just one – most often I need either two or four of them. And since I use directional fabrics a lot, I found myself reverting to making single units just to make sure that my fabric is oriented correctly.

Wenn ich “flying geese” mache, muss ich niemals nur einen machen – meistens brauche ich entweder zwei oder vier. Und da ich direktionale Stoffe sehr oft benutze, habe ich immer einzelne Einheiten hergestellt, um sicherzustellen, dass mein Stoff richtig ausgerichtet ist.

But here is an easier way to do it. I started out with this piece of very directional fabric:

Aber es geht auch leichter!  Ich habe mit diesem Stück Stoff begonnen:

The important thing here is to NOT cut your fabric with the pattern going diagonally, just straight up & down or side to side.

Es ist wichtig, den Stoff nicht diagonal zu schneiden, sondern nur mit dem Muster von oben nach unten oder von Seite zu Seite (siehe Photo oben).

Now continue as you would normally would:  Place two of your small squares on the larger one, sew, cut and press.

Jetzt ganz normal weitermachen: zwei der kleinen Quadrate auf das Hintergrund Stück platzieren,  nähen, schneiden und bügeln.

The next step is also done as usual: take your remaining two squares, place them on bottom corner of your background, sew, cut and press.  You now have two sets of flying geese, with the directional fabric running horizontally in one set, and vertically in the other….

Der nächste Schritt ist auch wie üblich: die letzten zwei kleine Quadrate, auf die untere Ecke des Hintergrundes legen, nähen, schneiden und bügeln. Man hat jetzt zwei Pärchen “flying geese”, wobei das Muster in einem Paar horizontal und in dem anderen vertikal verläuft.

This is exactly what I need for my stars – below is what one of my blocks will look like:

Das ist genau das, was ich für meine Sterne brauche – unten kann man sehen wie einer meiner Sterne aussehen wird:

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

