Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

A few weeks ago, I started participating in an Art Quilt Quilt-Along. The artist that designed it Janeen from Quilt Art Designs.. She designs paper piecing patterns, most of them nature themed and/or nature related, all of them sophisticated and beautiful. If I sound like a groupie, that’s probably because I am.

Anyhow, so here is a representation of the art quilt:

IMG_2818.JPG
We are now in week #5 of the Quilt Along, and Up until yesterday I was feeling a bit apprehensive about my fabric choices. I have to admit the color/fabric choices are not my strong suits so I am also using this project to try and hone some of these skills.

I had made some initial choices on colors, and overall I am happy with them – except for one. The picture below shows a section of the roof; I had picked several dark brick red fabrics for the different roof sections.

IMG_2817.JPG
This fabric was not working for me – I felt it made the whole piece look dark and dreary. So, I took all the sections that had roof on them apart and picked a different fabric. Much happier with this one!
Here is what the project looks like so far:

IMG_2816.JPG
The whole thing will be 36″ x 52″ large. I am excited each Friday morning when Janeen sends out the new section for the week!